Gazetted Holidays

Janmashtami
August 14, 2017 (Monday)

Birth Anniversary of Lord Krishna.



Independence Day
August 15, 2017 (Tuesday)

Celebrates India's independence.



Id - ul - Zuha ( Bakr-Id )
September 2, 2017 (Saturday)

Muslim festival to commemorate Prophet Ibrahim's sacrifice of his son in obedience to a command of God.



Dussehra (Vijyadasmi)
September 30, 2017 (Saturday)

Celebrated with great pomp and pageantry, the festival signifies the triumph of good over evil.



Muharram
October 1, 2017 (Sunday)

Muslims commemorate the martyrdom of Imam Hussain, the grandson of Prophet Muhammad.



Gandhi Jayanti (Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday)
October 2, 2017 (Monday)

Mahatma Gandhi's birth anniversary.



Diwali (Deepavali)
October 19, 2017 (Thursday)

Festival of Lamps, Lakshmi, the Goddess of prosperity, is worshiped.



Guru Nanak Jayanti
November 14, 2017 (Saturday)

Birth anniversary of Guru Nanak, the founder of Sikhism.



Id-e-Milad, (Milad-un-Nabi)
December 1, 2017 (Friday)

Birthday of Prophet Muhammad.



Christmas
December 25, 2017 (Monday)

Birth anniversary of Jesus Christ.



New Year's Day
January 1, 2018 (Monday)


Republic Day
January 26, 2018 (Friday)

Marks India's adoption of the constitution



Holi
March 2, 2018 (Friday)

Exuberant festival of colours in celebration of the advent of spring



Mahavir Jayanti
March 29, 2018 (Thursday)

Marks the birth of the 24th and last Jain tirthankara.



Good Friday
March 30, 2018 (Friday)

Marks the crucifixion of Christ



Ramnavami
April 25, 2018 (Sunday)


Budha Purnima
May 29, 2018 (Tuesday)

Celebrates the Buddha’s birth.



Eid-ul Fitar
June 15, 2018 (Friday)