Other Auspicious Days & Holidays 2017-2018

Rath Yatra
July 25, 2017 (Tuesday)

Spectacular temple-festival in Puri, Orrisa. Huge chariots arte taken out in honuour of Lord Jagannath.



Naga Panchami
July 27, 2017 (Thursday)

Festival in which the cobra is worshipped in the form of Sesha,the thousand-hooded serpent.



Raksha Bandhan
August 7, 2017 (Monday)

Celebrated mainly in northern & western India. Sisters tie silken, colourful rakhis (amulets) around their brothers’ wrists and pledge their love for each other.



Teej Fair
August 10, 2017 (Thursday)

Rajasthani festival to welcome the advent of monsoon. (Teej Fair Jaipur 14-15 August, 1999).



Ganesh / Vinayak Chaturthi
August 25, 2017 (Friday)

Clay models of Ganesh, the auspicious elephant-faced god, are worshipped and taken out in grand processions to be immersed in the sea or a lake.



Bhai Duj
October 21, 2017 (Saturday)


Pushkar Fair (Ajmer)
October 28, (Saturday) - November 4, 2017 (Saturday)

Huge cattle-market and camel-fair at Pushkar, Ajmer Rajasthan.



Makrasankranti (Uttran)
January 14, 2018 (Sunday)


Basant Panchami / Shri Panchami
January 22, 2018 (Monday)

Spring festival in honour of Saraswati, the Goddess of learning



Maha Shivratri
February 13, 2018 (Tuesday)

Festival devoted to the worship of Shiva, one of the most powerful deities of the Hindu pantheon



Cheti Chund
March 19, 2018 (Monday)


Mewar Festival (Udaipur)
March 18, (Sunday) - March 20, (Tuesday), 2018


Vaisakhi
April 14, 2018 (Saturday)

Celebrated in northern India, this festival marks the beginning of the Hindu solar new year.